BINGO was the game-O! What a wonderful event and an incredible turn out. Thank you, Lissa Ryan and Susan Goldfedder for working so hard to create and execute such a great night. Thank you to all the volunteers and to Ms. Comeau for her fantastic number calling.

One, two, three o’clock, four o’clock rock…, that’s right the next PTA event is Sock Hop, February 25th. If you would like to be a part of making this event happen, please contact Marybeth Henry at

The before and after school winter program is in session. Thank you, Tracey Durette, for coordinating and chairing this program.

Be a part of making a difference in the lives of the children, parents and teachers of DES,
join the PTA Board for the 2011-2012 school year. Available positions include Treasurer and 2nd Vice President.

If, you are interested or would like to nominate someone, contact Pat Ennis at or Susan Bayliss at

We are looking for a volunteer to help us create and webmaster our own PTA website at Please let Julie Saylor at know if you are interested and capable of taking on this task.

February GRACE Arts program is about sculptor, Henry Moore. Docents, please arrange a date with your classroom teacher. Thank you, Mary Kay Bailey and Theresa Peppell for creating the African Art Display, from the last GRACE Arts session, in the schools entryway.

Happy Third Quarter.
Truly Yours,
Jamie Rees
PTA President, 2010-2011


Rees’ Piece - February 2011

Welcome to the Dranesville PTA's website. The purpose of the PTA is to promote the welfare of the children and youth in home, school, community, and place of worship; raise the standards of home life; secure adequate laws for the care and protection of children and youth; bring into closer relation the home and the school, that parents and teachers cooperate intelligently in the education of children and youth; and develop between educators and the general public such united efforts as will secure for all children and youth the highest advantages in physical, mental, social, and spiritual education.

Jamie Rees, President

Julie Saylor,1st Vice President

Heather Lasik, 2nd Vice President

Peter Cuppernull, Treasurer

Susan Goldfedder, Corresponding Secretary

Susan Anderson, Recording Secretary

Chris Bollerer, Webmaster